Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t posted anything interesting on here for a long time. Well, I haven’t posted anything at all. I’d like to say it’s because I’ve been off doing wonderfully interesting things, but I have in fact I have just be incredibly busy finishing my third year. I have however now completely finished. Final projects done, dissertation done, and the dreaded exams are all done. The entire time I, like every other final year student, was suffering from immense stress, but now that it’s all over I don’t really know what to do with myself.

keep-calm-and-graduate-1207This is such a strange time for all of us finishing, you are elated for having finished and being somewhat successful in life, even though you’re in god only knows how much debt (personally I calculate around £25,000), you are devastated to be leaving the life you’ve been living for the past three years, especially the friends which you’ve made who will all now be returning to their homes all over the country, and the majority of people are now facing an uncertain future, not being sure of what they want to do, or if they do know, not being able to find a break or get a job. You’ve suddenly gone from having so much to do to having nothing to do, stuck in a sort of limbo, in a state of flux.

My Friend and I enjoying a celebratory beer stick at La Trappiste

My Friend and I enjoying a celebratory beer stick at La Trappiste

I have been having fun, going out to celebrate “the end” with a Belgian beer stick and a cheese board at La Trappiste, a delicious dinner at the Olive Grove with friends, and a trip to see the new Great Gatsby film, but I am fast running out of money to continue such lavish celebrations or to go on any big adventures. I am aware of how fortunate I am to have so much spare time, but it is still frustrating.

I miss having something to do every day and as much as I like being stress free, I’m bored. I have so far watched about 6 films, caught up on all the tele I’ve been neglecting and even started reading some of the novels I’ve been putting off for the entirety of my degree. I’ve found a place to live, got a summer job to start in a month’s time and cleaned the house. So what now?

I’m so glad to be returning to university in September, at least I know that this uncertainty isn’t going to be lasting for too long, or that at least I’m putting it off for another 18 months.

Master-Degrees41

This isn’t of course the only reason why I’m doing a Masters; I have loved my degree for the most part and I am excited to continue studying, I have not had enough of the medieval period nor of Canterbury, it’s a wonderful course to study and in a beautiful environment. (This is starting to sound like a personal statement isn’t it?) I was even lucky enough to receive a scholarship and so I am not in quite the same situation as many of the other thirds years I know, I am lucky in this sense, but still, I’m stuck for the time being with too much time on my hands and not enough money in my pockets.

So I thought it was time to start posting again, and I hope to be much more regular with my posts from now on, becoming a proper blogger for the summer at least. The first few may be a bit backdated, but hopefully still just as interesting.

